North Carolina Real Estate Continuing Education Requirements

Whether you're just getting started or a seasoned pro, Superior has you covered with high-quality courses, industry expertise and convenience.

4 Mandatory Hours
4 Elective Hours
8 Total Hours

Learn what's required for your Real Estate License in North Carolina

This real estate licensing information summarizes the minimum requirements established by the North Carolina Real Estate Commission. We recommend you contact the North Carolina Real Estate Commission for more detailed information or changes.

If you obtain real estate licenses in multiple states, we recommend you check each state's requirements.

North Carolina Real Estate License: All

Total Hours Required: 8
Mandatory Hours: 4
Elective Hours: 4
Renewal Cycle in Years: 1
License Expiration Date: 06/30/2021
Education Cycle in Months: 12
Next Education Due Date: 06/10/2021
Renewal Date: June 30th every year.
Continuing Education Date: June 10th every year.  

Hours Required by NC Real Estate Commission: 8 hours

-4 mandatory hours in an Update course
    -Provisional Brokers and non-BIC Brokers only: General Update course
    -BICs and BIC-Eligible Brokers only: Broker-in-Charge Update (BICUP) course
-4 elective hours

Click here to view your education: https://www.members-base.com/ncrec/oecgi3.exe/O4W_NCLOGIN_NEW

Seat Time: The North Carolina Real Estate Commission requires a timing device for all distance education courses to ensure that courses cannot be completed in less time than the approved credit hours. Please note that your course will time out after several minutes of inactivity.

Expiration Date of Course: All CE courses must be completed within 30 days from registration or by June 10th. All courses MUST be completed by June 10th to ensure a timely renewal. It is very important to note that continuing education providers are not permitted to offer courses for CE credit between June 11 and June 30 of each year. Thus, you will not be able to access or complete your CE courses between June 11 and June 30 of each year.

Final Exam: While students are required to demonstrate mastery of the content at certain levels of the course, there are no passing requirement for the final exam.

Certificate:
With few exceptions, online course completion certificates are available for download at course conclusion and posted directly to your dashboard account.  

License Renewal Info: A recent law change requires all Broker licenses to be renewed on the North Carolina Real Estate Commission website.

Due to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak: The CE deadline has been extended to September 30, 2020. The extension period will begin on July 1, 2020, and end on September 30, 2020.

Online Limitations

The 4 hours of mandatory coursework must be taken in the classroom. Only the 4 elective hours may be taken online.

Roster

Roster Required: yes
Roster Process: Rosters are submitted electronically every Tuesday and Friday. During high volume periods, such as near renewal deadlines, rosters will be submitted daily.


Note from the North Carolina Real Estate Commission website - Licensees can check/review CE credits by going to the "Licensee Loginof the North Carolina Real Estate Commission Website. (Please allow 15 days after completion of a course for it to be posted to your record.)
Roster Sent: Every 7 days

Governing Agency

Name: North Carolina Real Estate Commission
Phone: 9198753700
Fax: 9198774216
Address: 1313 Navaho Dr. Raleigh, NC 27619

Good to know

Other facts and insights about getting your license

Note: This license renewal information is provided as a convenience only and is subject to change at any time. It's ultimately the responsibility of the licensee to be sure that he or she is meeting all requirements for each license and corresponding renewal period.